Sand and dust

Grain of dust, morphed into me

Let my being one day rise and blossom

O wonders, sand and dust!

Let the sun shine through a rambling life

*  * *

Grain of dust, morphed into me

Let me one day return unto

So worn out sand and dust

As the beat goes on, infinite

*  * *

Years into a human life, in the blink

Of an afternoon, the hair turn white

High above, fading leaves fall out

As hundred years enter death, in a single day

*  * *

Which passing sun has lit up my heart

In which love is eroding to gravels

Face hidden, as sorrow raises

Each passing day I await bliss

*  * *

Forest of thinly leafed trees

From the abyss I heard the call

O this fate, sand and dust,

An inkdrop was erased, in oblivion.

By TRỊNH CÔNG SƠN (*)

(*) Translated from Vietnamese by VÂN MAI

Leave a Reply

