Tôi là người Việt Nam

When I was young, I thought I knew it all

My mom would tell me the stories of our home

The fields of rice, the lullabies she was singing to me

* * *

It’s been so long ago

Oh ouh oh It seems so far away

And now I realize I’ve never seen you before

* * *

I long to know about my beginning

The meaning of my name, my golden skin

Little towns, sacred temples where my ancestors watch over me

* * *

It’s been so long ago

Oh ouh oh It seems so far away

But no matter where I go, where I was born

I’ll always know a part of you is deep in my heart

* * *

Việt Nam your beauty lies within

Sweetest dreams of whispering winds

I hear your voice inside of me

Telling me who I am, who I am

* * *

Việt Nam your beauty resonates

Water flows through your thousand lakes

One day I will find my way

To where it all began

* * *

And say “Tôi là người Việt Nam”

* * *

Your beauty lies within

Your beauty resonates

* * *

Việt Nam deep in my heart

Từ trong tim tôi mãi là người Việt Nam

By ÁNH MINH & DƯƠNG KHẮC LINH

Source: Thúy Nga Paris

Leave a Reply

